BlogMe : Deployed!

First things first, app is deployed on pythonanywhere.com not on heroku. Why? discussed below.

Deploying BlogMe in fact took more than expected time. One reason is shifting to pyhtonanywhere. Pythonanywhere is a great place to deploy your django app for the first. It is very intuitive and fairly straight forward. As this is my first time I did not have enough knowledge and also I couldn’t find good source on internet also. I have reached out to few of my friends to find out  how this could  be done ? After finding out the basic information I started pushing code to github and cloning in pythonanywhere. ( FUN FACT: I did cloning of my code atleast 6 times before app deploying ). I mainly learnt a lot from errors and tried to correct them. Finally after so much time I could deploy the app, but wait! Things are always not that easy! I could see the first page but when I clicked any link I used to get templateDoesNotExist error. Understanding the reason behind this took almost 3hrs. The reason was directories in pythonanywhere are searched with case sensitive. I had to contact a developer of pythonanywhere to find out why is this ? He explained me that it is due difference in OS. They are using LINUX and I use WINDOWS.

In this process I have learnt a bit of version controlling pyCharm also.

Had a great learning from this project. There are few bugs to be fixed. so, I may work for 1-2 hrs to fix and we are good to go.

Here is the link to BlogMe : aravindm.pythonanywhere.com/posts/view

Leave a Reply

